Cadby Does The Double In Brisbane

Cadby Does The Double In Brisbane

COREY CADBY continued his impressive emergence on the DartPlayers Australia circuit as he won two Australian Grand Prix events in Brisbane over the weekend, with David Platt being the other victor in the treble-header at the Brook Hotel.

Youngster Cadby has been in superb form during his breakthrough year on the DPA circuit in 2016, and added two more titles to extend his advantage at the top of the rankings.

However, he had to bounce back from a quarter-final defeat in Friday's opening tournament, as Platt claimed a 6-4 victory before going on to defeat Gordon-Glen Mathers by the same scoreline in the semi-finals and John Matheson 6-2 in the final to take the title.

Platt went out in the last 16 of Saturday's tournament to Steve Duke Snr, with recent Auckland Darts Masters qualifier Clinton Bridge and former World Championship qualifier Shane Tichowitsch also missing out at that stage.

Cadby, though, followed up his earlier wins over Steve Duke Jnr and Bill Aitken by seeing off Jeremy Fagg 6-2 in the quarter-finals, youngster Harley Kemp 6-4 in the semi-finals and Lucas Cameron 6-3 in the final as he picked up the win.

Cadby then claimed back-to-back wins as he whitewashed former World Championship qualifier Steve Macarthur 6-0 in the final - following up an earlier 4-0 defeat of Tichowitsch and wins over Bill Stanley, Steve Duke Snr and Danny Graham.

Platt won through to the semi-finals before losing out to Macarthur, who had also defeated former Grand Slam of Darts star Pat Orreal in the last 16.

The next action on the DPA circuit will be the TABtouch Perth Darts Masters Qualifiers from July 14-17 at the Claremont Showgrounds, WA, with the Ladbrokes Sydney Darts Masters Qualifiers to follow from July 30-August 1 at the Warilla Bowls Club, NSW.

For full information, visit

Harrows Australian Grand Prix

Event 15

Friday June 24


John Matheson 6-4 Jeremy Fagg

Bill Aitken 6-1 James Bailey

Gordon-Glen Mathers 6-2 Lucas Cameron

David Platt 6-4 Corey Cadby


John Matheson 6-3 Bill Aitken

David Platt 6-4 Gordon-Glen Mathers


David Platt 6-2 John Matheson

Event 16

Saturday June 25


Corey Cadby 6-2 Jeremy Fagg

Harley Kemp 6-2 Hoani Dick

Lucas Cameron 6-4 Glen Jones

Aaron Petty 6-4 Steve Duke Snr


Corey Cadby 6-4 Harley Kemp

Lucas Cameron 6-4 Aaron Petty


Corey Cadby 6-3 Lucas Cameron

Event 17

Sunday June 26


Steve Macarthur 6-2 James Bailey

David Platt 6-3 Clinton Bridge

Danny Graham 6-3 Robbie King

Corey Cadby 6-4 Steve Duke Snr


Steve Macarthur 6-5 David Platt

Corey Cadby 6-2 Danny Graham


Corey Cadby 6-0 Steve Macarthur