Unibet European Championship Schedule

Unibet European Championship Schedule

THE schedule of play for the Unibet European Championship has been confirmed ahead of the £400,000 tournament in Hasselt, Belgium from October 28-30.

The ITV4-televised event sees 32 players competing across three days at the Ethias Arena, with Michael van Gerwen defending the title which he has won for the past two years.

The Dutchman's rivals are comprised of his rivals in the top 32 of the 2016 European Tour Order of Merit, based on prize money won in this year's ten European Tour events held in Germany, the Netherlands, Gibraltar and Austria.

The opening day of the European Championship will see the first round take place across two sessions, with the matches involving the eight seeded players being held in the evening.

Top seed van Gerwen takes on 2012 champion Simon Whitlock in a clash between two former winners of the event, while four-time victor Phil Taylor comes up against number seven seed Alan Norris.

Belgium's Kim Huybrechts - the only home player in the event - comes up against James Wilson after the evening session opens with Dutch ace Jelle Klaasen faces Steve West.

The afternoon session begins with the meeting between Jamie Caven and James Richardson, while former finalist Terry Jenkins plays Ian White, former World Grand Prix winner Robert Thornton meets Spain's Cristo Reyes and former Premier League aces Michael Smith and Stephen Bunting also clash.

Saturday sees the second round split across two sessions in Hasselt, before the event concludes on Sunday with the quarter-finals in the afternoon session and the semi-finals and final in the evening session.

Tickets for the Unibet European Championship are still available from www.pdc-europe.tv.

Session Schedule

Friday October 28

Afternoon Session (1.45pm-6pm local time, 12.45pm-5pm UK time)

First Round x8

Jamie Caven v James Richardson

Daryl Gurney v Gerwyn Price

Chris Dobey v Joe Cullen

Ian White v Terry Jenkins

Cristo Reyes v Robert Thornton

Mervyn King v Devon Petersen

Michael Smith v Stephen Bunting

Max Hopp v Benito van de Pas

Evening Session (8pm-12am local time, 7pm-11pm UK time)

First Round x8

Jelle Klaasen (8) v Steve West

Kim Huybrechts (5) v James Wilson

Dave Chisnall (6) v Kyle Anderson

Mensur Suljovic (2) v Jermaine Wattimena

Peter Wright (3) v Justin Pipe

Alan Norris (7) v Phil Taylor

Michael van Gerwen (1) v Simon Whitlock

James Wade (4) v Gary Anderson

Saturday October 29

Afternoon Session (1.45pm-6pm local time, 12.45pm-5pm UK time)

Second Round x4

Chisnall/K Anderson v Caven/Richardson

Suljovic/Wattimena v White/Jenkins

Wright/Pipe v Reyes/Thornton

Huybrechts/Wilson v King/Petersen

Evening Session (8pm-12am local time, 7pm-11pm UK time)

Second Round x4

Klaasen/West v Smith/Bunting

Norris/Taylor v Dobey/Cullen

Wade/G Anderson v Hopp/van de Pas

van Gerwen/Whitlock v Gurney/Price

Sunday October 30

Afternoon Session (1.45pm-6pm local time, 12.45pm-5pm UK time)


Order of Play TBC

Evening Session (8pm-12am local time, 7pm-11pm UK time)




First Round - Best of 11 legs

Second Round - Best of 19 legs

Quarter-Finals - Best of 19 legs

Semi-Finals - Best of 21 legs

Final - Best of 21 legs

There will be no tie-break in any round.