Chisnall & Whitlock Seal Champions League Spots

Chisnall & Whitlock Seal Champions League Spots

Dave Chisnall and Simon Whitlock have claimed the final two qualifying places for the 2018 Champions League of Darts ahead of September's tournament at The Brighton Centre.

Heading into the World Matchplay, the pair were under pressure to keep their top eight places from the likes of Michael Smith, James Wade and Raymond van Barneveld.

Former Grand Slam of Darts finalist Chisnall produced a stunning second round comeback against Smith to end his fellow-St Helens star's hopes of a Champions League return.

Australia's Whitlock will make his Champions League debut after seeing off Wade with a convincing victory in round two to confirm his spot on the South Coast.

The third staging of the Champions League of Darts will take place on September 22-23 in Brighton, with live television coverage on BBC Sport.

Reigning champion Mensur Suljovic will defend his title against his rivals in the world's top eight players, led by world number one Michael van Gerwen.

World Champion Rob Cross, based in nearby Hastings, will make his Champions League debut, alongside Northern Ireland's Daryl Gurney - the 2017 World Grand Prix champion.

Gary Anderson is bidding to add to the UK Open and World Matchplay titles he has won already this year, while colourful world number two Peter Wright completes the eight-player field.

Champions League of Darts Competitors:

1 Michael van Gerwen

2 Peter Wright

3 Rob Cross

4 Gary Anderson

5 Daryl Gurney

6 Mensur Suljovic

7 Simon Whitlock

8 Dave Chisnall