Whitlock Chasing Brisbane Triumph

Whitlock Chasing Brisbane Triumph

SIMON WHITLOCK is confident that he can claim home glory in the Brisbane Darts Masters this weekend to secure his first World Series of Darts title.

The sport's most successful Australian is one of the PDC stars competing in the World Series treble-header Down Under.

Whitlock was defeated by Raymond van Barneveld in the Auckland Darts Masters semi-finals earlier in August before then losing out to Michael van Gerwen in the Melbourne Darts Masters quarter-finals.

However, Whitlock landed a roof-raising 170 finish during that Hisense Arena tie with Van Gerwen, who eventually sneaked a 10-8 victory.

Whitlock is now aiming to take that form into the inaugural Brisbane Darts Masters at the BCEC from August 17-19.

"I was disappointed not to win the match against Michael but I'm still feeling good and confident," said Whitlock. "I am going to take the positives from the match against Michael."

"I've beaten Rob Cross and Corey Cadby, who've both won titles this year, so it is a productive trip for me.

"All that's missing is it all coming together over one weekend. If that happens in Brisbane I can win the title without doubt."

The Brisbane Darts Masters will be held from August 17-19 at the BCEC. For tickets, visit www.ticketek.com.au.

Brisbane Darts Masters

August 17-19, BCEC, Brisbane, Australia

Competing Players

PDC Representatives: Michael van Gerwen, Peter Wright, Rob Cross, Gary Anderson, Simon Whitlock, Kyle Anderson, Michael Smith, Raymond van Barneveld

Oceanic Representatives: Corey Cadby, Tim Pusey, Raymond Smith, Mark Cleaver, Damon Heta, Gordon Mathers, Barry Gardner, Justin Thompson