2019 Austrian Darts Championship Day One

2019 Austrian Darts Championship Day One

THE 2019 Austrian Darts Championship begins on Friday with the first round at the Multiversum Schwechat.

The £140,000 PDC European Tour event features 48 players competing across the weekend in Vienna, with coverage being streamed online throughout the tournament.

Friday's first round features the 32 qualifiers as they compete to secure places in Saturday's second round against the 16 seeded players.

The Austrian Darts Championship will be broadcast through PDCTV-HD at video.pdc.tvfor all subscribers worldwide, as well as through a series of bookmakers' websites.

Brendan Dolan was the first winner of the afternoon session at the Austrian Darts Championship, defeating William O'Connor 6-4 in their first round tie.

The opening eight legs went with throw during a tight clash between two 2019 Players Championship event winners, before Dolan took out 116 to break for a 5-4 lead in a key ninth and then pinned double one to set up a second round tie with Gerwyn Price.

James Wilson set up a second round tie with Steve Beaton by defeating Derry's Gavin Carlin 6-2, with finishes of 158 and 80, on the bull, putting him command at 3-1 before he closed out victory with six doubles from 12 attempts.

Adam Gawlas enjoyed a remarkable 6-5 win over Ross Smith on his European Tour debut, with the Czech teenager surviving two missed match darts in a dramatic deciding leg.

Gawlas, 17, won through last weekend's East Europe Qualifier and has only been playing for six months, but impressed with finishes of 88 on the bull, 108 and a 14-darter as he shared the opening six legs.

UK Open quarter-finalist Smith produced superb legs of 12 and ten darts to move 5-3 up, with Gawlas responding with legs of 14 and 13 darts to force a decider before capitalising on his opponent's two misses at double 16 to hit the same bed for victory.

"It was an amazing match," said Gawlas, who now plays Mensur Suljovic. "My hands were shaking but I was focused."

Austrian teenager Rusty-Jake Rodriguez moved into the last 32 with a strong 6-3 win over PDC Unicorn Development Tour Order of Merit leader Ted Evetts in a clash of two of the sport's brightest young prospects.

The opening six legs were shared before the former JDC Junior World Champion took leg seven, broke by finishing 68 in leg eight and then closed out victory, hitting six of 13 double attempts.

The 18-year-old now takes on Ian White - a two-time European Tour winner in 2019 - in Saturday's second round.

Cameron Menzies also hit six doubles from 13 attempts as he raced to a 6-1 victory over Germany's Kevin Munch, landing a 13-darter and finishes of 87 and 90 as he set up a second round tie with Michael Smith.

Austria's Dietmar Burger produced an outstanding display of finishing, including checkouts of 114 and 106 amongst 6/7 doubles, as he overcame Norway's Cor Dekker 6-3 for his maiden European Tour win, setting up a second round tie with Dave Chisnall.

Vincent van der Voort won the battle of former Austrian Darts Open winners against Justin Pipe 6-4, holding an early 3-1 lead before being pegged back level only to then break throw in leg nine and take out 100 with two double tops to seal victory.

2019 Austrian Darts Championship
August 30-September 1, Multiversum Schwechat, Vienna

Friday August 30
First Round
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)    
Brendan Dolan 6-4 William O'Connor
James Wilson 6-2 Gavin Carlin
Adam Gawlas 6-5 Ross Smith
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-3 Ted Evetts
Cameron Menzies 6-1 Kevin Munch
Dietmar Burger 6-3 Cor Dekker
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Justin Pipe
Jermaine Wattimena v Christian Bunse

Evening Session (1915 local time, 1815 BST)
Alex Steinbauer v Kirk Shepherd
Mark Webster v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Luke Humphries v Jamie Hughes
Hannes Schnier v Keegan Brown
Mike De Decker v Chris Dobey
Rowby-John Rodriguez v Josh Payne
Jeffrey de Zwaan v Christian Goedl
Kyle Anderson v Stephen Bunting

Saturday August 31
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)
Steve Beaton v James Wilson
Simon Whitlock v Vincent van der Voort
Gerwyn Price v Brendan Dolan
Dave Chisnall v Dietmar Burger
Ricky Evans v Steinbauer/Shepherd
Michael Smith v Cameron Menzies
Ian White v Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Adrian Lewis v Wattimena/Bunse

Evening Session (1915 local time, 1815 BST)
Nathan Aspinall v Schnier/Brown
Daryl Gurney v Rodriguez/Payne
Jonny Clayton v De Decker/Dobey
Peter Wright v M Webster/Van den Bergh
Mensur Suljovic v Adam Gawlas
Joe Cullen v Humphries/Hughes
Michael van Gerwen v Anderson/Bunting
Darren Webster v De Zwaan/Goedl

Sunday September 1
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Third Round

Evening Session (1915 local time, 1815 BST)

Sunday's games played in Draw Bracket order

All games up to and including the quarter-finals are the best of 11 legs, with the semi-finals the best of 13 legs and the final the best of 15 legs.

Prize Fund
Winner: £25,000
Runner-up: £10,000
Semi-Finalists: £6,500
Quarter-Finalists: £5,000
Last 16: £3,000
Last 32: £2,000
Last 48: £1,000
Total: £140,000

Watch Online
PDC European Tour events can be watched online through PDCTV-HD for all subscribers worldwide.

Live coverage with faster streams may also be available at the following bookmakers' websites:
bet365 - www.bet365.com - Worldwide
Bet90 - www.bet90.com - Brazil, Germany
Betfair - www.betfair.com - Brazil, Denmark, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Spain, Wales
Betfred - www.betfred.com - England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales
bwin - www.bwin.com - Worldwide
FDJ - www.fdj-gaming-solutions.com - France
Fonbet - www.fonbet.com - Armenia, Belarus, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, Russian federation, Ukraine
Fortuna - www.fortunagroup.eu - Croatia, Czech Republic, Poland, Romania, Slovakia
Legolasbet - www.legolas.bet - Sweden
Ligastavok - www.ligastavok.ru/ - Russia
Marathonbet - www.betmarathon.com - Belarus, Russian Federation, Spain, Ukraine
Nike - www.nike.sk - Slovakia
Olimp - www.betolimp.com - Kazakhstan, Russian Federation
Paddy Power - www.paddypower.com/ - England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales
Stoiximan - www.stoiximan.gr - Cyprus, Greece, Romania
Supabets - www.supabets.com.gh - Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa
Superbet - www.superbet.ro/ - Romania, Poland
Tempobet - www.tempobet.org - Europe
Totogaming - www.totogaming.am/en/ - Armenia
Tipsport - www.tipsport.cz - Czech Republic & Slovakia
Unibet - www.unibet.com - Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden, United Kingdom
William Hill - www.williamhill.com - Great Britain, Ireland, Spain
Winlinebet - www.winlinebet.ru - Russia
World Sports Betting - www.worldsportsbetting.co.za - Namibia, South Africa