Barnsley Title For van Gerwen

Barnsley Title For van Gerwen

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN claimed his eighth tournament victory of 2016 in superb style by defeated Benito van de Pas 6-3 in the final of Players Championship Three at the Barnsley Metrodome, on a day which saw two nine-darters achieved.

World number one van Gerwen top prize as he won through the 128-player field in Barnsley in the third of the year's £75,000 Players Championship tournaments.

Van Gerwen followed up early wins over Paul Nicholson, Mark Walsh and Jeffrey de Graaf with defeats of Simon Whitlock, Mark Webster - with a whitewash - and Robbie Green to reach the final.

He then raced into a four-leg lead in the final, landing an 11-darter, a 13-dart finish and two 14-dart legs in the process, before van de Pas hit back by winning three of his own to reduce the gap to 4-3, including a 121 checkout and legs of 13 and 12 darts.

Van Gerwen, though, denied his rival the chance to level in leg eight with a brilliant ten-darter before taking the next in 13 darts to secure victory and the £10,000 first prize, averaging 111.29 and landing three 180s to his compatriot's 99.89 average and two maximums.

Van den Pas saw off Alan Tabern, Lee Evans, Ricky Evans, Chris Dobey, Peter Wright and Alan Norris during his run to the decider, which saw him pick up £6,000 as he fell short of his first senior PDC title.

Green reached his first PDC semi-final as he defeated James Richardson, Dave Chisnall, Darren Johnson, James Wilson and Jamie Robinson.

Green was joined in the last four by Alan Norris, who landed a nine-dart finish - his third since joining the PDC circuit in January 2015 - during his run to the semi-finals.

Norris saw off Wayne Jones, Terry Temple, Andrew Gilding, Steve Beaton and Michael Smith on the day as he picked up £3,000 in prize money, while Mark Webster and Peter Wright joined Robinson and Smith in the quarter-finals.

Adrian Lewis had earlier preceded Norris in achieving a nine-dart finish, scoring 180, 174 and 147 during his first round win over Ray Campbell, although he was later defeated by PDC Unicorn World Youth Champion Max Hopp.

World Champion Gary Anderson was joined by his Premier League rivals Robert Thornton and James Wade in suffering a first round defeat on the day, while Phil Taylor reached the third round before being edged out by Mervyn King.

Two further Players Championship events will take place on Saturday and Sunday, with a further £150,000 prize money on offer over the PDC ProTour weekend.

NB: From the original list of entries, Richie Corner withdrew and was replaced by Jay Foreman.

Players Championship Three

Friday April 8

First Round

Michael van Gerwen (1) 6-1 Paul Nicholson

Mark Walsh 6-4 Jay Foreman

Darren Webster 6-4 Rowby-John Rodriguez (32)

Jeffrey de Graaf 6-3 Brian Woods

Stephen Bunting (16) 6-2 Robert Owen

Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-1 Simon Preston

Simon Whitlock (17) 6-1 Prakash Jiwa

Darron Brown 6-3 Haruki Muramatsu

Kim Viljanen 6-4 James Wade (8)

Jim Walker 6-1 Paul Milford

Mark Webster (25) 6-2 William O'Connor

Steve McNally 6-2 John Henderson

Jermaine Wattimena 6-2 Jelle Klaasen (9)

Magnus Caris 6-5 John Bowles

Jonathan Worsley 6-5 Vincent van der Voort (24)

Steve Hine 6-4 Matt Clark

Dave Chisnall (5) 6-4 Peter Hudson

Robbie Green 6-3 James Richardson

Ron Meulenkamp 6-5 Joe Cullen (28)

Darren Johnson 6-1 Mickey Mansell

Terry Jenkins (12) 6-3 Nigel Daniels

Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 David Pallett

Brendan Dolan (21) 6-2 Wes Newton

James Wilson 6-1 Matthew Dennant

Kim Huybrechts (4) 6-4 Mike Zuydwijk

Devon Petersen 6-2 Berry van Peer

Jamie Robinson 6-5 Keegan Brown (29)

Nathan Derry 6-5 Yordi Meeuwisse

Mensur Suljovic (13) 6-0 Stuart Kellett

Kyle Anderson 6-3 Vincent Kamphuis

Daryl Gurney (20) 6-0 Stephen Willard

Matthew Edgar 6-4 Harry Robinson

Peter Wright (2) 6-1 Mick McGowan

Ross Smith 6-3 Cristo Reyes

Andy Hamilton 6-5 Joe Murnan (31)

Jason Lovett 6-4 Ryan Palmer

Phil Taylor (15) 6-5 Andy Smith

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Jason Marriott

Mervyn King (18) 6-3 Nigel Heydon

Josh Payne 6-5 Christian Kist

Adrian Lewis (7) 6-1 Ray Campbell - Adrian Lewis hits nine-dart finish

Max Hopp 6-2 Scott Dale

Jamie Lewis (26) 6-4 Andy Parsons

Chris Dobey 6-5 Andy Jenkins

Benito van de Pas (10) 6-3 Alan Tabern

Lee Evans 6-3 Dean Winstanley

Ricky Evans 6-4 Gerwyn Price (23)

Andy Boulton 6-5 Ronnie Baxter

Ian White (6) 6-4 Tony Newell

Curtis Hammond 6-5 Jason Wilson

Steve Beaton (27) 6-1 Dennis Smith

Steve West 6-5 Mark Frost

Ronny Huybrechts 6-1 Robert Thornton (11)

Andrew Gilding 6-4 Shaun Griffiths

Alan Norris (22) 6-1 Wayne Jones

Terry Temple 6-2 Nathan Aspinall

Michael Smith (3) 6-5 Ted Evetts

Mark Barilli 6-4 Johnny Haines

Jamie Caven (30) 6-1 Ryan Meikle

Kevin Painter 6-1 Jyhan Artut

Jonny Clayton 6-1 Gary Anderson (14)

Dick van Dijk 6-4 John Part

Justin Pipe (19) 6-5 Simon Stevenson

Jan Dekker 6-3 Mike De Decker

Second Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Mark Walsh

Jeffrey de Graaf 6-4 Darren Webster

Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-4 Stephen Bunting

Simon Whitlock 6-2 Darron Brown

Jim Walker 6-4 Kim Viljanen

Mark Webster 6-1 Steve McNally

Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Magnus Caris

Steve Hine 6-2 Jonathan Worsley

Robbie Green 6-5 Dave Chisnall

Darren Johnson 6-2 Ron Meulenkamp

Terry Jenkins 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode

James Wilson 6-2 Brendan Dolan

Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Devon Petersen

Jamie Robinson 6-4 Nathan Derry

Kyle Anderson 6-4 Mensur Suljovic

Daryl Gurney 6-3 Matthew Edgar

Peter Wright 6-2 Ross Smith

Andy Hamilton 6-1 Jason Lovett

Phil Taylor 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Mervyn King 6-2 Josh Payne

Max Hopp 6-5 Adrian Lewis

Chris Dobey 6-5 Jamie Lewis

Benito van de Pas 6-2 Lee Evans

Ricky Evans 6-3 Andy Boulton

Curtis Hammond 6-5 Ian White

Steve Beaton 6-4 Steve West

Andrew Gilding 6-4 Ronny Huybrechts

Alan Norris 6-3 Terry Temple - Alan Norris hits nine-dart finish

Michael Smith 6-1 Mark Barilli

Jamie Caven 6-4 Kevin Painter

Jonny Clayton 6-2 Dick van Dijk

Justin Pipe 6-1 Jan Dekker

Losers £500

Third Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Jeffrey de Graaf

Simon Whitlock 6-2 Jeffrey de Zwaan

Mark Webster 6-3 Jim Walker

Jermaine Wattimena 6-2 Steve Hine

Robbie Green 6-4 Darren Johnson

James Wilson 6-4 Terry Jenkins

Jamie Robinson 6-2 Kim Huybrechts

Daryl Gurney 6-3 Kyle Anderson

Peter Wright 6-3 Andy Hamilton

Mervyn King 6-5 Phil Taylor

Chris Dobey 6-2 Max Hopp

Benito van de Pas 6-1 Ricky Evans

Steve Beaton 6-2 Curtis Hammond

Alan Norris 6-2 Andrew Gilding

Michael Smith 6-0 Jamie Caven

Jonny Clayton 6-5 Justin Pipe

Losers £1,000

Fourth Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Simon Whitlock

Mark Webster 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena

Robbie Green 6-5 James Wilson

Jame Robinson 6-5 Daryl Gurney

Peter Wright 6-5 Mervyn King

Benito van de Pas 6-2 Chris Dobey

Alan Norris 6-3 Steve Beaton

Michael Smith 6-2 Jonny Clayton

Losers £1,500


Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Mark Webster

Robbie Green 6-2 Jamie Robinson

Benito van de Pas 6-2 Peter Wright

Alan Norris 6-3 Michael Smith

Losers £2,250


Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Robbie Green

Benito van de Pas 6-3 Alan Norris

Losers £3,000


Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Benito van de Pas

Winner £10,000

Runner-Up £6,000