Maiden ProTour Win For Big Ben

Maiden ProTour Win For Big Ben

BENITO VAN DE PAS won his first senior PDC title by edging out Michael van Gerwen 6-5 in the final of Saturday's Players Championship Four at the Barnsley Metrodome.

The Dutch duo won through to the final for a second successive day on the ProTour weekend, with van Gerwen having taken victory in Friday's £75,000 tournament only to see the 23-year-old claim revenge in a deciding leg 24 hours later.

Van de Pas had also lost out to van Gerwen in last year's International Darts Open event on the PDC European Tour, but he finally went all the way to claim the £10,000 first prize and pick up his first ProTour triumph.

After the pair traded 13-darters to kick off the game, van Gerwen produced legs of 12, 13 and 14 darts to pull into a 4-1 lead in a high-quality contest.

Van de Pas hit back with an 11-darter before van Gerwen took the seventh leg to move to the brink of victory at 5-2, but the youngster hit back with three successive legs to level the contest before a 12-darter in the deciding leg gave him victory.

Van de Pas ended the final with a brilliant 110.24 average after landing seven 180s and a 106 checkout, with van Gerwen averaging 111.72 in defeat as he hit four maximums and a 134 finish.

Van de Pas' route to the final began with a 6-2 win over Nigel Heydon before he then defeated Jason Wilson and Mark Webster.

The Dutchman then whitewashed Chris Dobey in the last 16, dropped only one leg in the quarter-finals against Alan Norris and overcame Gerwyn Price 6-2 in the semis.

Van Gerwen saw off Mark Frost, Stephen Willard, Matthew Dennant, Simon Whitlock and Jelle Klaasen during his run before knocking out World Champion Gary Anderson 6-4 in the semi-finals.

Price was denied his place in a second ProTour final of the year by van de Pas, but the Welsh ace saw off Nathan Derry, Jermaine Wattimena, Terry Jenkins, Joe Cullen and Max Hopp on the day as he picked up £3,000.

World Champion Anderson was appearing in his second Players Championship semi-final of the year, having defeated Brett Claydon, John Bowles, Shaun Griffiths, Jonny Clayton and Dave Chisnall.

World Youth Champion Hopp knocked out high-flying Mensur Suljovic on his way to a first ProTour quarter-final since the equivalent Players Championship 12 months ago, while Chisnall's run to the last eight was his best finish on the floor so far in 2016.

Norris followed up his run to Friday's semi-finals by reaching the last eight before losing out to van de Pas, while UK Open semi-finalist Klaasen was denied at the quarter-final stage by compatriot van Gerwen in his third ProTour quarter-final of the year.

Emerging star Chris Dobey knocked out James Wade and Steve Beaton as he reached the last 16 for a second successive day, with Jonny Clayton and Simon Whitlock also matching their Friday finish by winning through to the fourth round.

Sunday sees the ProTour weekend conclude with a third Players Championship tournament, as 128 players compete for £75,000 in prize money.

NB: From the original entries, Phil Taylor withdrew from Saturday's event, and was replaced by Associate Member Kevin Dowling.

Players Championship Four

Saturday April 9, Barnsley Metrodome

First Round

Michael van Gerwen (1) 6-1 Mark Frost

Stephen Willard 6-3 Alan Tabern

Andrew Gilding 6-3 John Henderson (32)

Matthew Dennant 6-3 Johnny Haines

Simon Whitlock (16) 6-2 Jamie Robinson

Yordi Meeuwisse 6-4 Steve West

Matt Clark 6-5 Mervyn King (17)

Andy Jenkins 6-4 Jan Dekker

Jelle Klaasen (8) 6-1 Andy Parsons

Richie Corner 6-1 Jonathan Worsley

James Wilson 6-4 Jamie Lewis (25)

Ricky Evans 6-5 William O'Connor

Kyle Anderson 6-4 Adrian Lewis (9)

Josh Payne 6-5 Curtis Hammond

Andy Hamilton 6-4 Vincent van der Voort (24)

Ted Evetts 6-1 Matthew Edgar

Dave Chisnall (5) 6-1 Peter Hudson

Magnus Caris 6-4 Paul Nicholson

Keegan Brown (28) 6-4 Nathan Aspinall

Nigel Daniels 6-2 Darron Brown

Robert Thornton (12) 6-1 Simon Stevenson

Jeffrey de Graaf 6-5 Mark Walsh

James Richardson 6-3 Brendan Dolan (21)

Kevin Painter 6-1 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Kim Huybrechts (4) 6-2 Scott Dale

Robbie Green 6-4 Steve Hine

Jonny Clayton 6-2 Jamie Caven (29)

Dean Winstanley 6-3 Ronnie Baxter

Gary Anderson (13) 6-2 Brett Claydon

John Bowles 6-3 Robert Owen

Justin Pipe (20) 6-4 Jyhan Artut

Shaun Griffiths 6-5 Mark Barilli

Ross Smith 6-3 Peter Wright (2)

Dennis Smith 6-3 Steve McNally

Rowby-John Rodriguez (31) 6-1 John Part

Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-3 Terry Temple

Stephen Bunting (15) 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Cristo Reyes 6-4 Jason Lovett

Alan Norris (18) 6-2 Mike Zuydwijk

Kevin Dowling 6-3 Darren Webster

James Wade (7) 6-3 Brian Woods

Chris Dobey 6-1 Prakash Jiwa

Steve Beaton (26) 6-1 Paul Milford

Tony Newell 6-2 Jim Walker

Benito van de Pas (10) 6-2 Nigel Heydon

Jason Wilson 6-2 Stuart Kellett

Mark Webster (23) 6-3 Vincent Kamphuis

Ray Campbell 6-5 Dick van Dijk

Christian Kist 6-2 Ian White (6)

Andy Smith 6-4 Haruki Muramatsu

Joe Cullen (27) 6-2 Jason Marriott

Mickey Mansell 6-2 Andy Boulton

Terry Jenkins (11) 6-1 Wes Newton

Mick McGowan 6-1 Harry Robinson

Gerwyn Price (22) 6-0 Nathan Derry

Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Kim Viljanen

Wayne Jones 6-3 Michael Smith (3)

Max Hopp 6-1 Ryan Meikle

Ronny Huybrechts 6-1 Joe Murnan (30)

Simon Preston 6-0 Ryan Palmer

Mensur Suljovic (14) 6-5 David Pallett

Devon Petersen 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp

Daryl Gurney (19) 6-1 Berry van Peer

Mike De Decker 6-3 Darren Johnson

Second Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Stephen Willard

Matthew Dennant 6-3 Andrew Gilding

Simon Whitlock 6-0 Yordi Meeuwisse

Andy Jenkins 6-5 Matt Clark

Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Richie Corner

Ricky Evans 6-5 James Wilson

Kyle Anderson 6-5 Josh Payne

Andy Hamilton 6-4 Ted Evetts

Dave Chisnall 6-1 Magnus Caris

Keegan Brown 6-2 Nigel Daniels

Jeffrey de Graaf 6-4 Robert Thornton

James Richardson 6-5 Kevin Painter

Robbie Green 6-1 Kim Huybrechts

Jonny Clayton 6-5 Dean Winstanley

Gary Anderson 6-0 John Bowles

Shaun Griffiths 6-4 Justin Pipe

Ross Smith 6-1 Dennis Smith

Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-0 Jeffrey de Zwaan

Cristo Reyes 6-5 Stephen Bunting

Alan Norris 6-3 Kevin Dowling

Chris Dobey 6-5 James Wade

Steve Beaton 6-3 Tony Newell

Benito van de Pas 6-3 Jason Wilson

Mark Webster 6-1 Ray Campbell

Andy Smith 6-3 Christian Kist

Joe Cullen 6-5 Mickey Mansell

Terry Jenkins 6-4 Mick McGowan

Gerwyn Price 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena

Max Hopp 6-3 Wayne Jones

Ronny Huybrechts 6-0 Simon Preston

Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Devon Petersen

Mike De Decker 6-4 Daryl Gurney

Losers £500

Third Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Matthew Dennant

Simon Whitlock 6-4 Andy Jenkins

Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Ricky Evans

Kyle Anderson 6-2 Andy Hamilton

Dave Chisnall 6-1 Keegan Brown

James Richardson 6-4 Jeffrey de Graaf

Jonny Clayton 6-4 Robbie Green

Gary Anderson 6-1 Shaun Griffiths

Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-2 Ross Smith

Alan Norris 6-0 Cristo Reyes

Chris Dobey 6-5 Steve Beaton

Benito van de Pas 6-4 Mark Webster

Joe Cullen 6-5 Andy Smith

Gerwyn Price 6-3 Terry Jenkins

Max Hopp 6-5 Ronny Huybrechts

Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Mike De Decker

Losers £1,000

Fourth Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Simon Whitlock

Jelle Klaasen 6-2 Kyle Anderson

Dave Chisnall 6-5 James Richardson

Gary Anderson 6-3 Jonny Clayton

Alan Norris 6-1 Rowby-John Rodriguez

Benito van de Pas 6-0 Chris Dobey

Gerwyn Price 6-2 Joe Cullen

Max Hopp 6-2 Mensur Suljovic

Losers £1,500


Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Jelle Klaasen

Gary Anderson 6-3 Dave Chisnall

Benito van de Pas 6-1 Alan Norris

Gerwyn Price 6-2 Max Hopp

Losers £2,250


Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Gary Anderson

Benito van de Pas 6-2 Gerwyn Price

Losers £3,000


Benito van de Pas 6-5 Michael van Gerwen

Winner £10,000

Runner-Up £6,000