White's Whitewash Seals Barnsley Win

White's Whitewash Seals Barnsley Win

IAN WHITE secured his fifth career title as he whitewashed Michael van Gerwen 6-0 to win Players Championship Five and claim the £10,000 prize at the Barnsley Metrodome on Sunday.

In an emphatic performance, White averaged 106.2 and landed four 180s as he swept past the world number one, with the pinnacle of his performance coming with an 11-darter in the fifth leg, whilst he also registered a 108 checkout as he powered to the title.

The victory was White's first for six months since he also picked up a Players Championship victory in Dublin, as he eased past Ronnie Baxter, Steve Hine and Scott Dale to reach the last 32, before beating Jermaine Wattimena, Josh Payne and Robbie Green to reach the final.

It was there that he produced his best darts as he quickly claimed all six legs to dispose of Dutch ace van Gerwen. The victory is just the third time that White has beaten the world number one, and the first time since 2012.

Friday's winner van Gerwen, who was hunting his ninth tournament title of 2016, continued his scintillating form to reach his fourth Players Championship final in succession and third of the weekend.

However, the Dutchman would suffer a second successive defeat in the final after losing to compatriot Benito van de Pas in Saturday's decider.

On his way to the final, he defeated Nathan Derry in his opening game before squeezing past Paul Nicholson and Kevin Painter to reach the last 32.

There, van Gerwen made light work of the in-form Daryl Gurney in a 6-0 thumping before comfortably beating Keegan Brown and Dave Chisnall to reach the set-up the final showdown with White.

Elsewhere, the run to the semi-finals capped a wonderful weekend for 41-year-old Green, having reached the same stage in Players Championship Three on Friday before losing out to van Gerwen.

He stormed past Andy Parsons and Mervyn King in his opening games on Sunday, before a succession of 6-5 victories saw him see off Brendan Dolan, second seed Peter Wright and Cristo Reyes to reach the final four, where White this time proved too strong.

Following his recent elimination from the Betway Premier League, it was a confidence-boosting weekend for Dave Chisnall as he reached the final four on Sunday after making the quarter-finals in Players Championship Four on Saturday.

Youngster Payne, who won a Unicorn Development Tour event in March, continued his form as he saw off a number of seeded players to reach the quarter-finals of a ProTour event for just the second time.

After narrowly squeezing past Peter Hudson in his opening game, he then saw off third seed and world number eight Michael Smith 6-3 in the second round before a win over John Henderson and an excellent 6-1 victory against Gerwyn Price moved him into the final eight.

Spanish ace Reyes won through to a ProTour quarter-final for the first time with his run on Sunday, while former World Youth Champion Keegan Brown enjoyed his best finish on the senior circuit since July.

Following the treble-header of events in Barnsley over the weekend, Saturday's champion van de Pas moves into the PDC Order of Merit's top 20 for the first time, while Alan Norris moved up from 33rd to 30th in the world rankings.

Players Championship Five

Sunday April 10, Barnsley Metrodome

First Round

Michael van Gerwen (1) 6-2 Nathan Derry

Paul Nicholson 6-3 Nigel Daniels

Mickey Mansell 6-5 Max Hopp (32)

Kevin Painter 6-5 Terry Temple

Daryl Gurney (16) 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Mick Todd 6-5 Johnny Haines

Justin Pipe (17) 6-2 Andy Boulton

Andrew Gilding 6-4 Steve West

Jelle Klaasen (8) 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Berry van Peer 6-4 Dave Ladley

Chris Dobey 6-4 Jamie Caven (25)

William O’Connor 6-5 Jonathan Worsley

Ryan Palmer 6-3 Terry Jenkins (9)

Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Lee Evans

Keegan Brown (24) 6-3 Matthew Dennant

Jason Lovett 6-1 Mark Frost

Dave Chisnall (5) 6-5 Andy Smith

Vincent Kamphuis 6-3 Matthew Edgar

Kyle Anderson (28) 6-3 Paul Milford

Andy Hamilton 6-3 Robert Owen

James Wilson 6-4 Stephen Bunting (12)

Ryan Meikle 6-3 Kim Viljanen

Jamie Lewis (21) 6-3 Haruki Murumatsu

Kevin Dowling 6-4 Shaun Griffiths

Kim Huybrechts (4) 6-3 Ross Smith

Ronny Huybrechts 6-4 Stephen Willard

Mike Zuidwijk 6-4 Ricky Evans (29)

Magnus Caris 6-5 Mark Walsh

Simon Whitlock (13) 6-0 Harry Robinson

Richie Corner 6-3 Jason Wilson

Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Mark Webster (20)

Jason Marriott 6-4 Darren Johnson

Peter Wright (2) 6-1 Mike De Decker

Darren Webster 6-4 Wayne Jones

David Pallett (31) 6-3 Prakash Jiwa

Darren Brown 6-5 Wes Newton

Mervyn King (15) 6-2 Curtis Hammond

Robbie Green 6-3 Andy Parsons

Brendan Dolan (18) 6-3 Ray Campbell

Brett Claydon 6-5 Brian Woods

Ron Meulenkamp 6-4 Benito van de Pas (7)

Christian Kist 6-3 Jay Foreman

Rowby-John Rodriguez (26) 6-5 Alan Tabern

Nigel Heiden 6-3 Dick van Dijk

Mensur Suljovic (10) 6-0 Steve McNally

Cristo Reyes 6-3 John Bowles

John Part 6-2 Joe Cullen (23)

Johan Artut 6-5 Jim Walker

Ian White (6) 6-3 Ronnie Baxter

Steve Hine 6-4 Ted Evetts

Joe Murnan (27) 6-5 James Richardson

Scott Dale 6-0 Simon Preston

Robert Thornton (11) 6-4 Matt Clark

Jermaine Wattimena 6-2 Mick McGowan

Steve Beaton (22) 6-2 Jonny Clayton

Devon Petersen 6-3 Tony Newell

Michael Smith (3) 6-4 Dean Winstanley

Josh Payne 6-5 Peter Hudson

John Henderson (30) 6-3 Mark Barilli

Jan Dekker 6-3 Simon Stevenson

Alan Norris (14) 6-1 Jamie Robinson

Jeffrey De Graaf 6-0 Stuart Kellett

Gerwyn Price (19) 6-3 Yordi Meeuwisse

Andy Jenkins 6-3 Dennis Smith

Second Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Paul Nicholson

Kevin Painter 6-1 Mickey Mansell

Daryl Gurney 6-0 Mick Todd

Andrew Gilding 6-3 Justin Pipe

Berry van Peer 6-5 Jelle Klaasen

Chris Dobey 6-1 William O'Connor

Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Ryan Palmer

Keegan Brown 6-3 Jason Lovett

Dave Chisnall 6-1 Vincent Kamphuis

Kyle Anderson 6-4 Andy Hamilton

Ryan Meikle 6-1 James Wilson

Jamie Lewis 6-2 Kevin Dowling

Ronny Huybrechts 6-4 Kim Huybrechts

Mike Zuydwijk 6-5 Magnus Caris

Simon Whitlock 6-1 Richie Corner

Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-5 Jason Marriott

Peter Wright 6-4 Darren Webster

Darron Brown 6-4 David Pallet

Robbie Green 6-0 Mervyn King

Brendan Dolan 6-2 Brett Claydon

Ron Meulenkamp 6-5 Christian Kist

Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Nigel Heydon

Cristo Reyes 6-1 Mensur Suljovic

Jyhan Artut 6-4 John Part

Ian White 6-4 Steve Hine

Scott Dale 6-0 Joe Murnan

Jermiane Wattimena 6-3 Robert Thornton

Devon Petersen 6-4 Steve Beaton

Josh Payne 6-3 Michael Smith

John Henderson 6-4 Jan Dekker

Alan Norris 6-3 Jeffrey de Graaf

Gerwyn Price 6-3 Andy Jenkins

Losers £500

Third Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Kevin Painter

Daryl Gurney 6-5 Andrew Gilding

Chris Dobey 6-1 Berry van Peer

Keegan Brown 6-3 Nathan Aspinall

Dave Chisnall 6-2 Kyle Anderson

Jamie Lewis 6-3 Ryan Meikle

Ronny Huybrechts 6-4 Mike Zuydwijk

Simon Whitlock 6-4 Jeffrey de Zwaan

Peter Wright 6-1 Darron Brown

Robbie Green 6-5 Brendan Dolan

Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez

Cristo Reyes 6-5 Jyhan Artut

Ian White 6-4 Scott Dale

Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Devon Petersen

Josh Payne 6-4 John Henderson

Gerwyn Price 6-4 Alan Norris

Losers £1,000

Fourth Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Daryl Gurney

Keegan Brown 6-5 Chris Dobey

Dave Chisnall 6-4 Jamie Lewis

Simon Whitlock 6-4 Ronny Huybrechts

Robbie Green 6-5 Peter Wright

Cristo Reyes 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp

Ian White 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena

Josh Payne 6-1 Gerwyn Price

Losers £1,500


Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Keegan Brown

Dave Chisnall 6-3 Simon Whitlock

Robbie Green 6-5 Cristo Reyes

Ian White 6-3 Josh Payne

Losers £2,250


Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Dave Chisnall

Ian White 6-4 Robbie Green

Losers £3,000


Ian White 6-0 Michael van Gerwen

Winner £10,000

Runner-Up £6,000