Payne Edges Out Wade For Maiden Title

Payne Edges Out Wade For Maiden Title

JOSH PAYNE won his first senior title at Players Championship Six as he edged out James Wade 6-5 with a brilliant display to take the £10,000 title at the Barnsley Metrodome on Saturday, as Dave Chisnall landed a nine-dart finish.

Payne, a 22-year-old from Kent, has won three tournaments on the PDC's Challenge and Development Tour over the past four years, but continued his emergence at the highest level with his first ProTour success.

He kicked off a memorable day with wins over Gerwyn Price, Ronny Huybrechts and Wes Newton before seeing off former major winner Kevin Painter 6-4 in the last 16.

He then edged out Mensur Suljovic in a deciding leg in the quarter-finals and dropped just three legs in his semi-final win over Steve Brown before taking Wade all the way in the final, eventually sealing victory with a 116 checkout as his opponent waited on tops.

Wade had been bidding to win his first Players Championship title since last July but had to settle for the £6,000 runner-up prize on the day.

The number eight seed dropped only three legs in early wins over Dave Ladley and Dean Winstanley before picking up tight victories against Devon Petersen, Jim Walker, Peter Wright and Vincent van der Voort on his way to the final.

Van der Voort's run to the semi-finals was his best finish in a ranking event since February 2015, as he overcame Peter Hudson, Paul Nicholson, Robert Thornton, Jamie Caven and Nathan Aspinall.

Bristol ace Brown, whose only PDC ranking title came in Barnsley in February 2011, reached a ranking semi-final for the first time in almost five years as he defeated Joe Cullen, James Richardson, Antonio Alcinas, James Wilson and Simon Whitlock.

Although he eventually lost out to Payne, the run saw Brown - who is also inspiring the sport's next generation of stars as chairman of the Junior Darts Corporation - claim £3,000 in his bid to push back up the PDC Order of Merit.

Top seed Wright, Austria's Suljovic, Australia's Simon Whitlock and emerging ace Aspinall - the 2015 PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship finalist - all won through to the quarter-finals on the day.

Ireland's Mick McGowan enjoyed a run to the last 16 alongside newcomer Ryan Meikle, the Suffolk youngster who won a PDC Tour Card in January, Wales' Jonny Clayton, James Wilson, Jim Walker and established stars Kevin Painter, Jelle Klaasen and Jamie Caven.

Dave Chisnall achieved his sixth nine-dart finish on the PDC circuit during his third round clash with Caven, although he went on to lose narrowly in a deciding leg.

From the original entries, Adrian Lewis, Rowby-John Rodriguez and Brian Woods withdrew and were replaced by PDPA Associate Members Jay Foreman, Nick Fullwell and Barrie Bates.

Players Championship Six

Saturday April 30, Barnsley Metrodome

First Round

Peter Wright (1) 6-3 Mark Walsh

Dick van Dijk 6-2 Arron Monk

Jason Marriott 6-3 Cristo Reyes (32)

Prakash Jiwa 6-1 Berry van Peer

Max Hopp 6-3 Daryl Gurney (16)

Mick McGowan 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Curtis Hammond 6-4 Justin Pipe (17)

Tony Newell Bye (Terry Temple withdrew through illness)

James Wade (8) 6-1 Dave Ladley

Dean Winstanley 6-5 Nick Fullwell

Devon Petersen 6-2 Keegan Brown (25)

Chris Dobey 6-3 Ronnie Baxter

Jim Walker 6-3 Terry Jenkins (9)

Ron Meulenkamp 6-4 Ian Moss

Jamie Lewis (24) 6-4 Shaun Griffiths

Jeffrey de Graaf 6-5 Yordi Meeuwisse

Dave Chisnall (5) 6-1 Jonathan Worsley

Alan Tabern 6-2 Stephen Willard

Jamie Caven (28) 6-5 Christian Kist

Mike De Decker 6-3 Ross Smith

Robert Thornton (12) 6-2 Jason Lovett

Ricky Evans 6-4 Magnus Caris

Vincent van der Voort (21) 6-3 Peter Hudson

Paul Nicholson 6-4 Jan Dekker

Simon Stevenson 6-5 Ian White (4)

Ryan Meikle 6-3 Jerry Hendriks

Steve West 6-1 Robbie Green (29)

Matthew Edgar 6-5 Dennis Smith

Andrew Gilding 6-5 Alan Norris (13)

Darren Webster 6-1 Mark Barilli

Mark Webster (20) 6-0 Barrie Bates

Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Andy Hamilton

Michael Smith (2) 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena

Darron Brown 6-3 Kevin Thomas

Scott Dale 6-5 David Pallett (31)

Kevin Painter 6-3 William O'Connor

Wes Newton 6-4 Mervyn King (15)

Paul Milford 6-2 Steve McNally

Josh Payne 6-4 Gerwyn Price (18)

Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Mick Todd

Jelle Klaasen (7) 6-4 Harry Robinson

Wayne Jones 6-4 Matthew Dennant

Joe Murnan (26) 6-4 Johnny Haines

Robert Owen 6-3 Ricky Williams

Mensur Suljovic (10) 6-3 Andy Boulton

Jamie Robinson 6-4 Simon Preston

Mark Frost 6-1 Steve Beaton (23)

Jason Wilson 6-3 Andy Smith

Vincent Kamphuis 6-3 Benito van de Pas (6)

James Wilson 6-2 Andy Parsons

Kyle Anderson (27) 6-4 Ray Campbell

Darren Johnson 6-2 Ted Evetts

Andy Jenkins 6-4 Stephen Bunting (11)

Antonio Alcinas 6-4 Matt Clark

Steve Brown 6-5 Joe Cullen (22)

James Richardson 6-2 Nigel Daniels

Jonny Clayton 6-1 Kim Huybrechts (3)

Steve Hine 6-5 Mickey Mansell

John Henderson (30) 6-3 John Part

Stuart Kellett 6-2 Jyhan Artut

Simon Whitlock (14) 6-1 Jay Foreman

John Bowles 6-4 Lee Evans

Brendan Dolan (19) 6-3 Nathan Derry

Nigel Heydon 6-1 Ryan Palmer

Second Round

Peter Wright 6-1 Dick van Dijk

Prakash Jiwa 6-4 Jason Marriott

Mick McGowan 6-5 Max Hopp

Tony Newell 6-1 Curtis Hammond

James Wade 6-2 Dean Winstanley

Devon Petersen 6-1 Chris Dobey

Jim Walker 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp

Jeffrey de Graaf 6-3 Jamie Lewis

Dave Chisnall 6-4 Alan Tabern

Jamie Caven 6-4 Mike De Decker

Robert Thornton 6-3 Ricky Evans

Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Paul Nicholson

Ryan Meikle 6-2 Simon Stevenson

Matthew Edgar 6-4 Steve West

Andrew Gilding 6-1 Darren Webster

Nathan Aspinall 6-1 Mark Webster

Michael Smith 6-1 Darron Brown

Kevin Painter 6-3 Scott Dale

Wes Newton 6-1 Paul Milford

Josh Payne 6-5 Ronny Huybrechts

Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Wayne Jones

Joe Murnan 6-0 Robert Owen

Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Jamie Robinson

Jason Wilson 6-4 Mark Frost

James Wilson 6-3 Vincent Kamphuis

Kyle Anderson 6-4 Darren Johnson

Antonio Alcinas 6-2 Andy Jenkins

Steve Brown 6-4 James Richardson

Jonny Clayton 6-3 Steve Hine

Stuart Kellett 6-5 John Henderson

Simon Whitlock 6-1 John Bowles

Nigel Heydon 6-2 Brendan Dolan

Losers £500

Third Round

Peter Wright 6-2 Prakash Jiwa

Mick McGowan 6-5 Tony Newell

James Wade 6-5 Devon Petersen

Jim Walker 6-5 Jeffrey de Graaf

Jamie Caven 6-5 Dave Chisnall - Dave Chisnall hits nine-dart finish

Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Robert Thornton

Ryan Meikle 6-2 Matthew Edgar

Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Andrew Gilding

Kevin Painter 6-3 Michael Smith

Josh Payne 6-3 Wes Newton

Jelle Klaasen 6-2 Joe Murnan

Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Jason Wilson

James Wilson 6-3 Kyle Anderson

Steve Brown 6-3 Antonio Alcinas

Jonny Clayton 6-0 Stuart Kellett

Simon Whitlock 6-0 Nigel Heydon

Losers £1,000

Fourth Round

Peter Wright 6-3 Mick McGowan

James Wade 6-4 Jim Walker

Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Jamie Caven

Nathan Aspinall 6-1 Ryan Meikle

Josh Payne 6-4 Kevin Painter

Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Jelle Klaasen

Steve Brown 6-2 James Wilson

Simon Whitlock 6-4 Jonny Clayton

Losers £1,500


James Wade 6-5 Peter Wright

Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Nathan Aspinall

Josh Payne 6-5 Mensur Suljovic

Steve Brown 6-5 Simon Whitlock

Losers £2,250


James Wade 6-4 Vincent van der Voort

Josh Payne 6-3 Steve Brown

Losers £3,000


Josh Payne 6-5 James Wade

Winner £10,000

Runner-Up £6,000