Austrian Darts Open Third Round

Austrian Darts Open Third Round

PHIL TAYLOR agonizingly wired double-12 for a nine-darter as the Quarter-Finals were decided at the Multiversum in Schwechat, Vienna.

The 16-time World Champion held off a resilient Kim Huybrechts in a 6-3 thriller. After taking the opening three legs, Huybrechts showed great spirit to level things up at 3-3.

Fresh on confidence from winning the Betway World Cup of Darts last week, Taylor returned to claim the next leg before firing eight perfect darts and clipping the wire of D12 in the pursuit of the perfect leg.

Michael van Gerwen continued his bid of retaining his Austrian Darts Open title with a dominant 6-1 victory over Steve Beaton.

After a shaky start, van Gerwen ramped up the power and fired home back-to-back 12-darters to establish a 4-0 lead.

There was a reprieve for Beaton as he took out 80 for 4-1, before the Dutchman rattled off the remaining two legs to claim his quarter-final spot.

Nigel Heydon’s incredible run got even better as he whitewashed Ian White to reach the quarter-finals and set up a clash with Michael Smith, who edged past Ron Meulenkamp 6-4.

In the game of the afternoon, Kyle Anderson squeezed past Jelle Klaasen 6-5, despite the Dutchman averaging 104.77 and hitting eight 180s.

Anderson was impressive himself, firing four maximums and averaging 103.61 as he set up a quarter-final clash with van Gerwen.

In incredible scenes, Peter Wright bust a 120 score in a deciding leg thriller as he beat Alan Norris 6-5.

But World Championship Quarter-Finalist Norris couldn’t capitalise with 56 remaining, allowing Wright to return for tops and escape with victory.

Elsewhere, Terry Jenkins was impressive as he edged out the in-form Benito van de Pas 6-3, whilst back-to-back European Tour finalist Dave Chisnall crumbled to a 6-2 defeat to former Lakeside Champion Stephen Bunting.

The £115,000 Austrian Darts Open continues this evening with the conclusion of the competition.

Austrian Darts Open

Sunday June 12

Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

Third Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Steve Beaton

Kyle Anderson 6-5 Jelle Klaasen

Phil Taylor 6-3 Kim Huybrechts

Stephen Bunting 6-2 Dave Chisnall

Peter Wright 6-5 Alan Norris

Terry Jenkins 6-3 Benito van de Pas

Nigel Heydon 6-0 Ian White

Michael Smith 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)


Michael van Gerwen v Kyle Anderson

Phil Taylor v Stephen Bunting

Peter Wright v Terry Jenkins

Nigel Heydon v Michael Smith



All games are the best of 11 legs