CDC Canadian Tour winner Norman Jnr to make World Championship debut

CDC Canadian Tour winner Norman Jnr to make World Championship debut

John Norman Jnr will make his William Hill World Darts Championship debut in December after qualifying from the CDC Canadian Tour.

The 47-year-old from Newfoundland has dominated the final weekend of the Canadian Tour, winning back-to-back titles on Friday and Saturday.

Norman opened the Event Four final against Matt Campbell with an 11-darter and opened up a 4-1 lead before maintaining that advantage to close out a 6-3 win.

In the Event Five final, Norman led 4-0 and 5-2 before Ross Snook hit back to level - only to see his rival claim victory with a 13-darter in the deciding leg.

Norman's run to the Event Six quarter-finals on Sunday was enough to seal his World Championship qualification, despite losing out 6-5 to Dave Richardson at that stage.

Campbell reached a second final of the weekend on Sunday, but lost out 6-4 to Jacob Taylor - who moved up to second on the final CDC Canadian Tour standings following his maiden title.

Campbell has also secured World Championship qualification from the PDC Unicorn European Challenge Tour rankings as he now turns his sights to an Alexandra Palace return.

Norman, though, will be making his first World Championship appearance, although he competed in the 2017 World Cup of Darts for Canada and was the runner-up in the 2018 North American Championship in Las Vegas.

2021 CDC Canadian Tour
Event Four

Matt Campbell 6-4 David Cameron
Kiley Edmunds 6-4 Dave Richardson
John Norman Jnr 6-4 Jim Long
Jacob Taylor 6-2 Justin Fawcett

Matt Campbell 6-0 Kiley Edmunds
John Norman Jnr 6-1 Jacob Taylor

John Norman Jnr 6-3 Matt Campbell

Event Five

Ross Snook 6-3 Jacob Taylor
Dave Richardson 6-2 Keith Way
John Norman Jnr 6-2 David Cameron
Shaun Narain 6-3 Kiley Edmunds

Ross Snook 6-5 Dave Richardson
John Norman Jnr 6-0 Shaun Narain

John Norman Jnr 6-5 Ross Snook

Event Six

Matt Campbell 6-1 Oliver Jones
Dave Richardson 6-5 John Norman Jnr
Jacob Taylor 6-2 Jason Roker
Kiley Edmunds 6-3 Shaun Narain

Matt Campbell 6-3 Dave Richardson
Jacob Taylor 6-1 Kiley Edmunds

Jacob Taylor 6-4 Matt Campbell